Jean M. LaVecchia Named Chair of the St. Vincent’s Medical Center Board

June 13, 2016

BRIDGEPORT, Connecticut – Jean M. LaVecchia has been elected chair of the Board of Directors for St. Vincent’s Medical Center. Ms. LaVecchia will succeed Daniel Gottschall, MD, who has served as chairman since 2013. The election of Ms. LaVecchia represents the first time a lay woman has taken the helm, a seat that had traditionally been affiliated with the Daughters of Charity for more than a century. 

“This a tremendous honor,” said Ms. LaVecchia. “I’m proud to be part of this high quality health system. St. Vincent’s has a special commitment to its mission of delivering compassionate care, especially to people who are struggling. As board chair, I can assure you that St. Vincent’s will continue to be a beacon of excellence and hope for our community.”

“Jean’s election brings a fresh perspective,” Dr. Gottschall, stated. “Her business and leadership experience will be real assets as St. Vincent’s and the healthcare industry continue to experience unprecedented change. She is uniquely qualified to help guide St. Vincent’s through this transformation as we strive to better serve our community, with special attention to those most in need.” Gottschall was the first physician to serve as St. Vincent’s chair.

LaVecchia served as vice president, human resources and ethics officer for the Northeast Utilities system, now Eversource. As a member of the senior management committee, she was responsible for all aspects of human resources. LaVecchia joined NU in November of 1999.

While at Northeast Utilities, LaVecchia served on the board of its foundation and was instrumental in obtaining significant funding for UCONN’s School of Engineering Sustainable Energy program and for revitalizing the technical program and scholarship opportunities for Naugatuck Valley Community College.

She is former chair of the boards of the Achievement First Hartford Academy charter school system and the United Way of Greater New Haven. LaVecchia has served as a member of the Connecticut Board of Governors for Higher Education and on the University of Connecticut’s Business School Advisory Board. 

# # #