skip to content
Find a Doctor Expert Care at Your Service
Make an Appointment Call Our Care Line: (877) 255-7847 Connect Online »
Related News View All

AA Meets every Monday from 7-8:30 pm

Read More »
About St. Vincent's Medical Center - Bridgeport CT


Nursing Recognitions & Awards

St. Vincent's Medical Center has been named the only hospital in Fairfield County and one of only three hospitals in Connecticut to achieve Magnet® recognition from the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC).Magnet® Recognition: In November, 2012, St. Vincent’s Medical Center achieved Magnet® recognition by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC). The ANCC’s Magnet Recognition Program® recognizes healthcare organizations that demonstrate excellence in nursing services.

Magnet recognition is the highest national honor for nursing excellence, serving as the gold standard for nursing practice.

St. Vincent’s Medical Center is the only hospital in Fairfield County and one of only 3 hospitals in Connecticut to be granted Magnet recognition.

The Magnet Recognition Program focuses on advancing three goals: promoting quality of care, identifying excellence in the delivery of nursing services to patients, and disseminating nursing care best practices. With this achievement, St. Vincent’s Medical Center joins the Magnet community—a select group of 395 healthcare organizations out of nearly 6,000 U.S. healthcare organizations.

About St. Vincent's Medical Center Nursing certification validates that nurses have met stringent requirements for knowledge and experience and are qualified to provide competent specialty care. All nurses who provide care are encouraged to become certified by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC).

Certification programs are rigorous and meet nationally recognized standards. ANCC certification is a sound and legally defensible measurement of nursing knowledge. The certification programs are accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies and the American Board of Nursing Specialties (ABNS).  These independent accrediting bodies have established nationally acknowledged standards and criteria for the recognition of certification programs and use rigorous processes to determine whether programs meet their standards.

We are pleased to recognize St. Vincent’s nurses who earned certifications in different specialty areas as of May 12, 2011.

Professional Excellence Awards –2011

Download the PDF version

St. Vincent’s Shared Governance Professional Practice Council worked diligently in 2010 to establish professional recognition awards for registered nurses. Nurses are nominated by their peers. Six registered nurses were recognized during the 2011 Nurses’ Week Recognition Ceremony.

Nursing Community Service – Jennifer Nascimento, BS, RN-BC, CRC, demonstrates outstanding professional service through her voluntary contributions within the community and selfless commitment to the dignity and safety of those in need.

Nursing Leadership – Leslie Lincoln, BSN, RN demonstrates the traits of a role model, motivator and visionary leader.

Nursing Quality – Brooke Karlsen, MSN, RN  made significant contributions to nursing with positive patient outcomes through the use of quality measurement and improvement.

Nursing Research – Emma Wittstein, MSN, RN-BC,  utilizes scientific research to demonstrate improvements in the practice or image of nursing.

Nursing Clinical Practice – Denise Buonocore, MSN, APN-C, CCRN, makes significant contributions in defining, supporting and promoting Evidence- Based Practice.

Nursing Professional Development – Michael Perretta, RN, makes significant contributions to the professional development and growth of self and peers through the integration of practice and quality.

back to top